What Are My Digital Photos Like? (Part 5 of 6)

Photos-iconThis is part 5 in a 6 part series on my digital photo library.  Quick jumps:

Megapixels, Megapixels, Megapixels

Over time there were a variety of cameras being used, and the quality got ever better. The images got bigger (more pixels). Below is a graph showing the average megapixel image per year.

Photos-Average-Megapixels

Wow!  In 2014, the average image had about 20x the number of pixels in it when compared to 2001. With more pixels in each image, the size of those images are bigger, which is how we got the library sizes above. What, then, were the average image sizes?

Photos-Average_Size_MB

Look at that. In 2014, the average image size was 4.98MB. In 2001, the CF card I was using was only 8MB, so I wouldn’t have even been able to take 2 pictures using that card today. Yet, because storage has gotten so cheap, I can just keep snapping away.

(Part 6: Conclusion)

(Back to part 4)

5 thoughts on “What Are My Digital Photos Like? (Part 5 of 6)

  1. Pingback: Thoughts of a Raving Geek | What Are My Digital Photos Like? (Part 1 of 6)

  2. Pingback: Thoughts of a Raving Geek | What Are My Digital Photos Like? (Part 2 of 6)

  3. Pingback: Thoughts of a Raving Geek | What Are My Digital Photos Like? (Part 3 of 6)

  4. Pingback: Thoughts of a Raving Geek | What Are My Digital Photos Like? (Part 4 of 6)

  5. Pingback: Thoughts of a Raving Geek | What Are My Digital Photos Like? (Part 6 of 6)

Leave a Reply

